Errata

1.0 Errata

Rule Book

Appended: Elevation (PG. 22)

Elevation needed to be clarified to be more specific about who and what it ignores. We’ve changed the second paragraph to the following:

“Figures cannot draw Line of Sight to a target on higher Elevation unless the target is on the edge of the higher Elevation. If Line of Sight is drawn through a space on different Elevation that is not the space the target occupies, Line of Sight is blocked (See Example 1). A figure on a higher Elevation may draw Line of Sight through and ignore all figures on a lower Elevation.”

Appended: Farthest & Nearest (PG. 60)

Nearest & Farthest needed to be clarified to be more specific about how you count spaces. We’ve made the rule the following:

Intelligent Combatant cards will sometimes reference Nearest or Farthest. When determining what is Nearest and what is Farthest players should count out the number of spaces, counting diagonally if necessary, to the target figures or spaces. The nearest space to a figure is always an adjacent space. This counting is done at a at 1 for 1 conversion and does not follow the rules for Movement, Range, or SOI. Instead, simply count the shortest path to any non-obstructing terrain spaces.

Appended: Item Upgrades (PG. 28)

Important: Items that have the Double Tag have two separate sides. If you Upgrade one side, the other side is also Upgraded. If the other side is not a Weapon, the Upgrade cannot be used but is still attached.

Appended: Reach (X) (PG. 33)

Reach has been clarified and should read as follows:

Melee Attacks can be made at Range (X). They are still considered Melee Attacks. During an attack, the empty spaces directly orthogonally or diagonally that a figure can Attack through with Reach may be counted for the purposes of Flanking. This flanking benefit may only be applied to the figure using Reach to count these spaces.

E.G: In the diagram below Zeke has a weapon with Reach. Since Zeke is directly 1 space away from a position in which he could normally Flank, he will gain the Flanking bonus. However, regardless Nightingale could not. If Zeke were one space north or south of this position he could not gain the Flanking bonus.

Appended: Spawning Figures (PG. 19)

Important: When Spawning figures, players always start with the lowest number figure available. For example, if Cave Sickle 2 & 3 are already on the table and you are instructed to must two additional Cave Sickles, you’d spawn Cave Sickle 1 and 4.

Appended: Using Abilities (PG. 48)

There was a minor timing issue on Abilities that caused confusion. For this reason we’ve added to the following sentence:

“Abilities can only be used during your turn and not during an Action unless their Conditions say otherwise or the Ability occurs at a specific time.”

Clarified: Jumping (PG. 66)

We’ve updated the Important text at the end of the Jumping rules to the following:

!Important: If an Adventurer fails a Jump Check that includes any Terrain that would otherwise defeat them, and they are not caught by an ally, that Adventurer is Defeated regardless of what space they started the Jump Check from.

Clarified: Throw (PG. 33)

Throw needed to be clarified to be more specific about how it works. We’ve changed it to the following:

“Throw : (die): The Throw Ability allows an Adventurer to deal Physical Damage to an opponent equal to the listed die within Range 4 and Line of Sight. This is NOT an Attack and no Attack roll is made. You simply roll the die and deal the Damage. As such, this Damage cannot be Dodged. Lastly, Armor still reduces Damage dealt this way.”

Error: Examples

Making An Attack Example (PG. 47)

The final damage calculation is wrong and should read as followed:

“Nightingale must now determine the Final Damage of her Attack. The difference she rolled (4), plus the Damage she added from Abilities (2), minus the Damage that was subtracted from Armor (0), equals a Final Damage of 6. The player adds 6Damage tokens to the Animate.”

 

Intervention Example (PG. 49)

The final calculation of Condition Types is wrong and should read as followed:

“The Discipline Intervention, depicted above, has an Ability with 3 of the 4 Condition types. ”

 

Casting Spells Example (PG. 52)

The final damage calculation is wrong and should read as followed:

“Finished with his Spell, Zeke deals 3 total Magic Damage to the Animate. Since Magic Damage cannot be reduced by Armor, the Animate adds  3 Damage tokens to its card.”

 

Spell-Like Abilities (PG. 53)

The final damage calculation is wrong and should read as followed:

“Her DIFFERENCE HIT (3) adds to the Force of the Spell-Like Ability (7) totaling 10.”

 

New: Effect & Ability Token Limitations (PG. 67)

We’ve added the following rules to the Rulebook:

Effect & Ability Token Limitations
An Adventurer may not have more than 1 of any given type of Effect Token. This means that you can have both Barrier and Haste, but you cannot have Barrier or Haste twice.

The limitation on Ability Tokens changes depending on the Ability Token in question. If an Ability Token doesn’t specify a limit here, on the token, or in the back of this Rulebook. An Adventurer may have as many of a single type of Ability Tokens as they’d like.

  • Dodge: Limit 3.
  • Intervention: Limit 1.
  • Vow: Limit 5.
New: Rounding Numbers (PG. 67)

We’ve added the following rules to the Rulebook:

Rounding Numbers
Anytime you must cut a number in half, you always round up to the nearest whole number. This could be Damage, Gold, or any other number in the game.

New: Simultaneous Abilities (PG. 67)

We’ve added the following rules to the Rulebook:

Simultaneous Abilities
Anytime two or more abilities would occur at the same time and the order in which they resolve is important, players should always resolve the abilities in the order in which is the most beneficial to the figure currently taking the turn.

Adventure Book

Clarified: Sleeping Gevaudan (PG. 19)

The Sleeping Gevaudan special rule needed to be clarified to be more specific about how it works. We’ve changed it to the following:

“Sleeping Gevaudan: The Gevaudan on Tile UM19 are considered Sleeping until an Adventurer has moved onto Tile UM19 or has dealt damage to 1 of them. While Sleeping, Gevaudan will not take turns. If they are Sleeping when an Attack or Spell is made against them, the Attack or Spell Gains +6 to the roll and the Gevaudan will not Dodge or Counter.”

Error: Chapter 1 Tips

Unfortunately, the tips on page 6, 17, 33, and 58 didn’t get updated to reflect the most recent changes in the rules we made before printing. While these tips aren’t entirely incorrect in some ways, we’ve gone ahead and updated them to reflect the most recent rules in the Abridged version and all future printings.

Embarrassing, we know.

Below is a list of the corrected tips and their corresponding pages. 

Reminder: Restoring vs Not Restoring (PG.6)
When Adventurers are instructed to Restore, they Unflip and Unexhaust all cards and remove all Damage and other tokens.

If an Encounter continues without telling Adventurers to Restore, they keep all cards and Damage the way they were, although they still remove any Effect tokens. In addition, Defeated Adventurers or Adventurers with more Damage tokens than half of their max HP remove Damage tokens until they have Damage tokens equal to half of their max HP.

Tip: Special Defenses & Empowering (PG.17)
Some monsters have special defenses that make hurting them even more difficult. For example, Water Loas have the Arcane Ability. This Ability renders certain symbols during attacks useless. In this case, (Shield), (Book) and (Burst). This can be overcome in a variety of ways. First, players can use Spells. Spells are not considered Attacks, meaning that Arcane has no effect. Players can also use the Throw Ability to deal Damage. Since the Throw Ability is also not an Attack, this will also bypass Arcane’s protection.

Tip: Urgency Tokens (PG. 33)
Encounters will trigger a Lose Condition if players earn too many Urgency tokens. Urgency tokens force the players to keep moving. This prevents players from idling for too long. As soon as the players have 4 or more Urgency tokens all Adventurers are Defeated. This will lead to a Lose Condition of the current Encounter. See Pg. 50 of the Rulebook
for a refresher on Flanking.

Tip: Aggro and Pulling (PG. 58)
Remember, if an Intelligent Combatant did not have any AI Steps with a true condition, the Combatant won’t do anything. This means that a lot of enemies won’t do anything unless an Adventurer is close enough. This can be used to the Adventurers’ advantage. But be careful! At the end of a round in which no opponent had an AI Step with a true condition, and no opponents were Spawned, then the players will Gain an Urgency token.

Error: Through The Rubble (PG. 206)

The Setup text lists Tile UM23. This is wrong, it should list UM27 instead.

Diagram Book

Error: Diagram 16

The Setup text lists Tile UM25. This is wrong, it should list UM23 instead.

Cards

Appended: Long Sword Items

All Items with the Long Sword Item Type should have the following ability added to it’s 2-handed side:

“This Item may not have more than 1 Upgrade.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Long Sword Type Item Cards

Clarified: Zulfiqar Esper

The figures affected by True Devotion was confusing. It should say:

True Devotion: If the figure that spawned Zulfiqar spends 1 Summon token, all adjacent figures to Zulfiqar are dealt 4 Magic Damage, and the figure that spawned Zulfiqar HEAL equal to the total Damage dealt by this Ability. Then, Zulfiqar is Defeated.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file: 

Zulfiqar Esper Card

Error: Felled Afterlife Discipline

This card mentions a “Esper Limit” This is a misprint and shouldn’t be on the card.

Error: Hidden Large Card #26

The Passive Ability is printed wrong. It should be:

Wooden Aegis: The first time each turn ‘Redacted is Attacked, she Gains +3 during that Attack.”

(Spoiler) Below is a link to the proper print and play file: (Spoiler)

Hidden Large Card 26

Error: Hidden Large Card #BP2

The first AI Step references the word “Adjacent” when it should not. It should say:

Is there an opponent adjacent?
Make a separate Atk against each opponent within REACH 2. ”

(Spoiler) Below is a link to the proper print and play file: (Spoiler)

Hidden Large Card BP2

Error: Imbued Fear Discipline

The Imbued Fear Discipline card references X but X is not listed. It should read as follows:

Exhaust: When making an Attack, this Attack Gains: • +2 physical Dmg  • FU: Inflict Darkness, Force X + Difference Hit. Where X equals 6 plus the LVL of your highest Cruor Discipline.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Imbued Fear Discipline Card

Error: Water Loa Command

The Arcane ability is printed wrong. It should be:

Arcane: When making an Attack against the Water Loa (Shield), (Book), and (Burst) rolled during the Attack roll are considered non-existent.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Water Loa Command Card

Promotional Items

Error: Animate Initiative

The group number printed is wrong. Instead of”2-4″ it should say “3-4”.

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Animate Initiative Card

 

Error: Nightingale Alternate Art Adventurer

The ability printed is wrong. It should be:

“Per Encounter: All other allies Gain +1 sP. Nightingale Gains +2 sP.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Nighitngale Alternate Art Card