Errata

1.0 Errata

Critical = Required.
Major = You’ll want to read these, but you’re probably already playing right.
Minor = You’re assumptions are correct, but something is still wrong.

Rule Book

(Critical – Appended): Using Abilities (PG. 48)
We made some aesthetic changes, added an example, and added the following rules to this section of the Rule Book:
  • Abilities can only be used during your turn and not during an Action unless their Conditions say otherwise or the Ability occurs at a specific time.
  • If the Text Condition of an Ability says “At any time”, this Ability may be used during any turn and at the moment that is most beneficial to the user of the Ability.
  • If the Text Condition of an Ability specifies that it may happen during an Action such as “When making an Attack”, this Ability may be used at any time during that Action and at the moment that is most beneficial to the user of the Ability.”
  • When an Ability is intended to be used on any ally including yourself it will say “Any ally”. When an Ability is intended to be used on any ally except yourself it will say “Another ally”.
  • “Any Effects Gained by Abilities with Passive Condition Tags are lost if the Ability with the Passive Condition Tag is ever un-equipped.
  • Tip: Using Abilities with “Any time” can be the difference between winning and losing! With the Item Upgrade Master Work, an Adventurer may add +1 TO THE ATK ROLL at any time it benefits them the most. This means that they could exhaust this card to add the bonus after seeing the roll for an Attack.
(Critical – New): Effect & Ability Token Limitations (PG. 67)

Effect and Ability Token Limitations weren’t clear enough in our Rule Book. Many of these limitations were spread unevenly across cards and required our players to insinuate the limitation rather than being told. We’ve added the following rules to the Rulebook:

Effect & Ability Token Limitations
An Adventurer may not have more than 1 of any given type of Effect Token. This means that you can have both Barrier and Haste, but you cannot have Barrier or Haste twice.

The limitation on Ability Tokens changes depending on the Ability Token in question. If an Ability Token doesn’t specify a limit here, on the token, or in the back of this Rulebook, there is no limit to how many tokens a figure may have.

  • Dodge: Limit 3.
  • Intervention: Limit 1.
  • Vow: Limit 5.
(Critical – New): Golden Rules (PG. 58)

We’ve added a new Golden Rule to prevent our AI from being abused. The following has been added as our fourth Golden Rule:

No Actions Available
Sometimes, a Combatant will be Attacked from a position where they cannot retaliate or won’t act as none of their AI Steps are true. In these cases, if a Combatant has been the target of an opponent’s Attack, Spell, or Ability and has no true AI Steps on their turn, add the follow to the bottom of their Card. “Otherwise: Move towards the nearest opponent. This figure may jump up to 4 spaces during this movement.”

(Critical – Appended): Paralyze

We’ve added the following pink bit to Paralyze to prevent it from being broken by Disease.

Passive: You may not take Actions or use Abilities. ✘Discard this token at the end of your next turn. Discarding this token cannot be prevented.

(Critical – Error): The Adventure Sheet Flag “Friendly Baggage”

The Story Flag listed on the Adventure Sheet called “Friendly Baggage” is mis-labeled and should be called “Coffin Buddy”

We’ve updated the Adventure Sheet download to reflect this:

link

(Major – Appended): Elevation (PG. 22)

Elevation needed to be clarified to be more specific about who and what attacking ignores. We’ve changed the following paragraph with the pink bit being the change:

“Figures cannot draw Line of Sight to a target on higher Elevation unless the target is on the edge of the higher Elevation. If Line of Sight is drawn through a space on different Elevation that is not the space the target occupies, Line of Sight is blocked (See Example 1). A figure on a higher Elevation may draw Line of Sight through and ignore all figures on a lower Elevation.

(Major – Appended): Gaining Items During an Encounter (PG 67)

There was a discrepancy between the rules on PG.17 and PG. 67. We’ve updated PG. 67 to not only reflect the same rules, but also moved the relevant parts to PG. 67 to prevent repeating information. It now reads as followed:

Gaining Items During an Encounter
Items Gained via Loot tokens are Gained by the Adventurer that activated the Loot token. Similarly, Items Gained by drawing the Monster Loot or Unique Loot cards are Gained by the Adventurer that Defeated the opponent.

If the party Gains an Item via an Achievement or other Special Encounter Rule (or if it is not explicitly clear which player Gains an Item, the players may choose who Gains the Item.

If its ambiguous as to what Adventurer would normally Gain the Item, the players may choose which Adventurer Gains the Item.

If an Adventurer has no room for an Item that they have Gained, they may either Discard an Item in their Pack to make room, Discard the Item itself, or move the Item to the Party Stash.

Any time an Adventurer Gains an Item from another Adventurer or from a Reward, they may Immediately re-equip their own Items as though they had taken a free Re-Equip Action. “

(Major – Appended): Nearest & Farthest (PG. 60)

Nearest & Farthest needed to be clarified to be more specific about how you count spaces. For this reason we’ve changed the following paragraph with the pink bit being the change:

“Nearest” and “Farthest”
Intelligent Combatant cards will sometimes reference Nearest or Farthest. When determining what is Nearest and what is Farthest players should count out the number of spaces, counting diagonally if necessary, to the target figures or spaces. The nearest space to a figure is always an adjacent space. This counting is done at a 1-for-1 conversion and does not follow the rules for Movement, Range, or SOI. Instead, simply count the shortest path to any non-obstructing terrain spaces.

(Major – Appended): Restoring Adventurers (PG. 18)

Currently, the only time players can trade items is during Story Rounds and using the Re-Equip action during an Encounter. To add sense to particular late game moments, we’ve added the option to trade by adding “Re-Equip” Sep during the “Restoring Adventurers” rules.

(Major – Appended): Spawning Figures (PG. 19)

We never specified the specific order in which figures of the same group, or figures that use the same Initiative Card spawn. We’ve added following Important Note:

“Important: When Spawning figures, players always start with the lowest number figure available. For example, if Cave Sickle 2 & 3 are already on the table and you are instructed to must two additional Cave Sickles, you’d spawn Cave Sickle 1 and 4.”

(Major – Clarified): Bounties (PG. 13)

We’ve updated the Bounties section to be more clear as to our intent. It now says the following:

Many Story Rounds include the special Bounty Side Quest. A Bounty is a set of Encounters that can be attempted during the Explore Phase of a Story Round. Only 1 Bounty may be attempted each named Story Round. Meaning, that if you own more than 1 Bounty , you still can’t attempt more than 1 during a Story Round.

Story Rounds will specify the Bounty that can be attempted based on its difficulty rating. Players may not attempt a Bounty with a higher difficulty rating than the Story Round allows.

Each Bounty has a difficulty rating listed to help players know if they are ready to face the challenge.

(1 Skull) – Easy Bounty: Common Items are recommended!
(2 Skull) – Intermediate Bounty: Uncommon Items are recommended!
(3 Skull) – Hard Bounty: Rare Items are recommended!
(4 Skull) – Special Bounty: Optimized top end builds required!

Once a Bounty has been completed, Adventurers may never attempt it during that Adventure again. If a Bounty is lost, players may try to complete it again during the next named Story Round.

!Important: Adventurers do not keep Rewards earned or Drawn from a failed Bounty. To earn rewards of any type, players must successfully complete the Bounty in its entirety. If Adventurers fail a Bounty, discard all rewards earned during the Encounter(s) before returning to the Story Round.

(Major – Error): Allies, Opponents, and Figures (PG. 40)

We’ve updated the following section to reflect that Opponents and Allies can refer to a myriad of figures depending on the figure who’s turn it currently is. It now says the following:

Allies
Allies are figures that share the same goal and have no reason to hinder each other in achieving that goal. If you’re an Adventurer, you’re Allies are all the other Adventurers in the Encounter. Meanwhile, if you’re taking the turn of an Intelligent Combatant, Allies would refer to all those who oppose the Adventurers in the Encounter. On Encounter Setup Diagrams, Allies to the Adventurers will be outlined in green.

Opponents
Opponents are figures that oppose the current figure’s goals. If you’re an Adventurer, Opponents will be all the opposing Intelligent Combatants in the Encounter. Meanwhile, if you’re taking the turn of an Intelligent Combatant, the Adventurers and their Allies are all considered the Opponents. On Encounter Setup Diagrams, Opponents to the Adventurers will be outlined in Red. Any figure that Spawns during an Encounter is considered an opponent to the Adventurers unless stated otherwise.”

(Major – Error): COMBO: (X) Tag (PG. 32)

The Tag Combo : (X) on page 32 has been removed. Combo : (X) is already explained as intended in the Condition Tag section underneath COMBO : (TAG).

(Major – Error): Crawl Mode (PG. 9)

The Rank 1 Scenario we recommended was mislabeled. It was intended to be Cavern Fumigation.

(Major – Error): Examples

Making An Attack Example (PG. 47)

The final damage calculation is wrong and should read as followed:

“Nightingale must now determine the Final Damage of her Attack. The difference she rolled (4), plus the Damage she added from Abilities (2), minus the Damage that was subtracted from Armor (0), equals a Final Damage of 6. The player adds 6Damage tokens to the Animate.”

 

Intervention Example (PG. 49)

The final calculation of Condition Types is wrong and should read as followed:

“The Discipline Intervention, depicted above, has an Ability with 3 of the 4 Condition types. ”

 

Casting Spells Example (PG. 52)

The final damage calculation is wrong and should read as followed:

“Finished with his Spell, Zeke deals 3 total Magic Damage to the Animate. Since Magic Damage cannot be reduced by Armor, the Animate adds  3 Damage tokens to its card.”

 

Spell-Like Abilities (PG. 53)

The final damage calculation is wrong and should read as followed:

“Her DIFFERENCE HIT (3) adds to the Force of the Spell-Like Ability (7) totaling 10.”

 

Equipping Item Upgrades Example (PG. 28)

The example on PG. 28 mentions upgrading a War Axe to remove the HEAVY tag. This item does not have the HEAVY tag. It has been updated to reflect a Great Hammer instead.

 

(Major – New): Added 2 new Variant Rules (PG. 71)

Hard Mode: Use any or all of these rules for a harder experience.

  • Active Combatants: Whenever a Combatant Spawns, place its Initiative Card directly after the Initiative Card of the figure who’s currently taking their turn. If the current turn is ambiguous, place it at the end of the Initiative Track instead. If the figure’s Initiative Card is already on the table, the figure will take its turn the next time it’s Initiative Card would normally dictate that its turn begins.
  • Unpredictable Combat: At the start of every round, shuffle the Initiative Track.time two or more abilities would occur at the same time and the order in which they resolve is important, players should always resolve the abilities in the order in which is the most beneficial to the figure currently taking the turn.”

Names were also added to the available Easy Mode Options.

Easy Mode: Use any or all of these rules for an easier experience.

  • Favorable Conditions: When an Intelligent Combatant opposed to the Adventures is faced with multiple options during their turn, make the decision based on what’s the least detrimental to the Adventurers.
  • Reconnaissance: During the Setup of an Encounter, place the Adventurers in the Starting Zone after dealing out the Initiative Track.
  • XP Leniency: If players wish to Re-Spec, their first Re-Spec is free.
(Major – New): Rounding Numbers (PG. 67)

We’ve added the following rules to the Rulebook:

Rounding Numbers
Anytime you must cut a number in half, you always round up to the nearest whole number. This could be Damage, Gold, or any other number in the game.

(Major – New): Simultaneous Abilities (PG. 67)

We’ve added the following rules to the Rulebook:

Simultaneous Abilities
Anytime two or more abilities would occur at the same time and the order in which they resolve is important, players should always resolve the abilities in the order in which is the most beneficial to the figure currently taking the turn.

(Major– New): Important Spell Rules (PG. 51)

We added the following to this section of the rulebook so that we could remove mention of it in all cases on existing cards while also clearing up some confusion on cards that didn’t mention it:

“Allies may purposely fail Conviction Checks when being targeted by other allies.”

(Minor – Appended): Being Defeated (PG. 67)

We specified how Abilities and Effects that cause you to be defeated work by adding the pink bit below:

Being Defeated
When a figure Gains Damage tokens equal to their maximum HP, they are Defeated and removed from the board. Figures can never have more Damage tokens than their maximum HP. Adventurers and allied Combatants do not remove Damage tokens once Defeated. If an Ability or Effect would cause an Adventurer to become Defeated, they take Irreducible Damage equal to their remaining HP.

(Minor – Appended): Item Upgrades (PG. 28)

Item Upgrades never specified how they interact with Double Sided Items. We’ve added following Important Note:

“Important: Items that have the Double Tag have two separate sides. If you Upgrade one side, the other side is also Upgraded. If the other side is not a Weapon, the Upgrade cannot be used but is still attached.”

(Minor – Appended): Material (PG. 33)

We needed to be clear when and how Item Upgrades are unlocked. We’ve changed the Materials Tag to be a bit more clear as to our intent:

Material
Materials are found by Defeating Combatants and drawing the Monster Loot card in the Combatant Loot deck. So long as Card with the MATERIAL Tag is on a character in the Party or in the Party Stash, all Item Upgrades associated with that Material will then be available for purchase at all Shop and Train Phases. See Item Upgrades Pg. 28.”

This update was propagated to the Monster Loot section as well.

(Minor – Clarified): Armor (PG. 31)

We clarified that Armor reduces Physical Damage from all sources, not just from damage calculated during the Subtract Armor step of an Attack.

(Minor – Clarified): Backstab (PG. 32)

We did not specify that you cannot gain both the Flanking Bonus and Backstab bonus at the same time. The Backstab tag has been updated to specify this:

BACKSTAB:
While Flanking, Attackers with this Tag Gain +2 TO THE ATK ROLL and +5 PHYSICAL DMG. This Tag replaces the bonus from Flanking. See Flanking and Backstab Pg. 50.

(Minor – Clarified): Command Combatants (PG. 56)

Clarified that Command Combatants cannot equip Items, learn Disciplines, or Gain XP.

(Minor – Clarified): Counter (PG. 50)

Countering is intended to give you an Attack Action. Meaning, this Attack Action would end the current Action. We’ve added the following pink bits to clarify the Counter section in the rule book:

Counter (PG. 50)
“If these requirements are met, the current Attack Action immediately ends and the target being Attacked may make an Attack Action targeting the Attacker.”

 

(Minor – Clarified): Damage Nomenclature & Tags

The following issue causes no mechanical issues, however, we’ve had enough individuals bring up a discrepancy between our use of the following tags and how they’re actually portrayed on cards. In fact, not all cards even had this issue which tells us that this was a consistency problem on our end. For this reason, on future reprints and content, we’ll be updating the words “Physical Damage”, “Magic Damage”,  “Irreducible Damage”, and “To The Roll” on all cards to reflect the tags in the tag section. Meaning, a card that said, “Add +2 physical Damage.” would now say “Add +2 PHYSICAL DMG“.

This clarification also trickles down into the following Tags. They have been updated to say the following:

  • +(x) PHYSICAL DMG:
    This tag is used to denote Physical Damage. See Damage Types Pg. 44.
  • +(x) IRREDUCIBLE DMG:
    This tag is used to denote Irreducible Damage. See Damage Types Pg. 44.
  • +(x) MAGIC DMG:
    This tag is used to denote Magic Damage. See Damage Types Pg. 44.
  • +(x) TO THE ATK ROLL:
    This tag is used anytime an Ability or Value modifies an Attack roll during the “Roll to Hit” step of an Attack.

Example: 1

Example: 2

(Minor – Clarified): Damage Types (PG. 44)

The Important tag listed under Damage Types was unclear. It’s been updated to say the following:

Important: Anytime an Ability references just “Damage”, meaning Damage without a type. This is referencing all Damage types. For Example, if an Ability said “RESISTANCE : DAMAGE“, the figure would have resistance to all/any Damage types.”

(Minor – Clarified): Dodge (PG. 50)

The following question came up enough that we added it to the Rule Book.

“If an Ability refers to “Successfully Dodging an Attack“, It means that you took the DODGE Action and the Attack being made against you missed.”

(Minor – Clarified): Empower (PG. 50)

This has been re-written to add context and to be more specific on our intent. It has been changed to the following:

During the Empower step of an Attack or SPELL, a Adventurer may use the Empower Ability.

To Empower an Attack, an Adventurer spends 1 SP when building their combat dice pool to add the BLACK (DIE). This Die will provide additional Symbols that can be used on Symbol Abilities during the Attack.

To Empower a spell an Adventurer spends 1 SP when building their Force Pool to add the BLACK (DIE). Spells cannot normally use Symbol Abilities. However, when Empowering a SPELL, for each (BOOK) rolled on the BLACK (DIE), add +1 to the Force of the SPELL.

Depending on whether an Adventurer used the Empower Ability during an Attack or SPELL determines what the (SKULL) Symbol does when rolled.

  • Attack: If the (SKULL) is rolled during an Attack, the Attack misses, regardless of the numbers rolled on the Combat Dice.
  • Spell: If the (SKULL) is rolled during a SPELL, the SPELL fails to affect the target and 3 IRREDUCIBLE DMG is dealt to the caster.

Some Weapons also list the BLACK (DIE) as part of their Combat Dice. Attacks made with these Weapons are always Empowered. Empowering in this way does not cost additional SP.

A Spell or Attack may never be Empowered more than once.

Important: Some Abilities might use the BLACK (DIE) as part of their text. In these instances, the listed Ability does not count as Empowering and will specify what the BLACK (DIE) does.

(Minor – Clarified): Empower Standard Ability (PG. 40)

This has been updated to the following with the pink bit being the change:

When building your Combat Dice Pool during an Attack or when determining the Force of a SPELL, you may spend 1 additional SP to add the Black.

If the (SKULL) is rolled during an Attack, the Attack automatically misses. If the (SKULL) is rolled during a Spell, the Spell automatically fails to affect the target. Immediately deal 3 MAGIC DMG to the caster, and end the Spell Action.”

(Minor – Clarified): Flanking & Backstab (PG. 50)

We’ve added a small caveat to our normal Flanking rules with the pink bit below being the change:

When 2 allies who are not under an effect that would prevent them from making an Attack are on opposite sides of a target, they are Flanking. Figures making a (MELEE) Attack against a target they are Flanking Gain +1 TO THE ATK ROLL and +3 Physical dmg.

(Minor – Clarified): Jumping (PG. 66)

Jump has been clarified to make our intent clear that failing a jump over dangerous terrain of any type will defeat an Adventurer. It now reads as follows:

Important: If an Adventurer fails a Jump Check that includes any Terrain that would otherwise defeat them, and they are not caught by an ally, that Adventurer is Defeated regardless of what space they started the Jump Check from.”

(Minor – Clarified): Line of Sight (PG. 45)

Line of sight wasn’t clear that the edges of a Tile only affect LOS when the Tile doesn’t connect to another Tile. It has been updated to the following with the pink bit being the change:

“Obstructing Terrain, edges of a Tile where the Tile doesn’t connect to another Tile, and spaces occupied by opponents, block Line of Sight. Allies do not block Line of Sight, but give a -1 to the atk roll made through them. This effect stacks with the -1 to the atk roll from Hindering Terrain,
but not itself.”

(Minor – Clarified): Loot (PG. 17)

Clarified that Loot tokens are discarded after you activate them.

(Minor – Clarified): Reach (X) (PG. 33)

Reach has been clarified and should read as follows:

Reach (X): Melee Attacks can be made at Range (X). They are still considered Melee Attacks. During an attack, the spaces directly orthogonally or diagonally that a figure can Attack through with Reach may be counted for the purposes of Flanking. This Flanking benefit only applies to the figure using Reach to count these spaces.

E.G: In the diagram below Zeke has a weapon with Reach. Since Zeke is directly 1 space away from a position in which he could normally Flank, he will gain the Flanking bonus. However, regardless Nightingale could not. If Zeke were one space north or south of this position he could not gain the Flanking bonus.

(Minor – Clarified): Removing From Game vs. Discarding (PG. 19)

This rule was a relic of the past and was worded like hot garbage. We’ve changed it to the following:

Removing Components During The Game
Sometimes Encounters will instruct players to remove something from the game. When this happens, put the removed token, figure, or card in the game box. It will no longer be used in this Encounter. This only applies to the current Encounter being played.

  • Encounter Tokens: Anytime an Encounter Token is removed from the Game Board for any reason, put the removed token, figure, or card in the game box. It will no longer be used in the current Encounter.For example, if a Loot token is activated and an Adventurer is instructed to remove it from the game, that Loot token will not be available to Spawn if the Encounter reveals another random Loot token at a later point. In this case, the random Loot token needed would be drawn from the remaining Loot tokens instead.
  • Item Cards: All Item Cards not currently in an Adventurers possession or in the Party Stash are always available to be drawn when you are instructed to draw a card from their corresponding stack.
  • Permanent Removal: If a component is permanently removed from the game, it will no longer be used and should be left in the game box for the remainder of the Adventure.”
(Minor – Clarified): Resistances & Immunities (PG. 32, 33, 43, 67)

There was confusion about when Resistances and Immunities occurred. Specifically if it was before or after applying armor. It’s after as they now both have been updated to happen during the Final Damage step. They have been both updated to say the following:

  • RESISTANCE : (Type):
    Figures may have Resistances to different Damage types. When Calculating Final Damage from an Attack or Spell reduce the Final Damage dealt by half (rounded up).
  • IMMUNITY: (Type):
    Figures may have Immunities to Effects or Damage Types. If a figure is Immune to an Effect, they may not Gain that Effect. If they have the Effect and then Gain Immunity, they immediately lose the Effect. If a Figure is Immune to Damage, When Calculating Final Damage from an Attack or Spell reduce the Final Damage dealt to 0.
(Minor – Clarified): Sphere of Influence & Line of Sight (PG. 45)

We made it clearer that Elevation blocks Line of Sight but not SOI.

(Minor – Clarified): The Initiative Track, Activation Numbers, and Being Defeated (PG. 38, 54, 67)

Clarified in all relevant places that when a figure is Defeated you must immediately remove their corresponding Initiative Card from the Initiative Track. This also meant some aesthetic changes to Page 38.

The Initiative Track pg 38
As soon as a figure is Defeated they must immediately remove their corresponding Initiative Card from the Initiative Track. When this happens, the other Initiative Cards collapse to fill in the empty space.
Some Combatants with multiple figures may share one or more Initiative Cards. We call these Groups. A Group’s corresponding Initiative Card is only ever removed from the Initiative Track when the last figure in the Group is Defeated.

Activation Numbers & Groups pg 54
A Group’s corresponding Initiative Card is only ever removed from the Initiative Track when the last figure in the Group is Defeated.

Being Defeated pg 67
As soon as a figure is Defeated they must immediately remove their corresponding Initiative Card from the Initiative Track. When this happens, the other Initiative Cards collapse to fill in the empty space.

(Minor – Clarified): Throw (PG. 33)

Throw needed to be clarified to be more specific about how it works. We’ve changed it to the following with the pink bit being the change:

“Throw : (die): The Throw Ability allows an Adventurer to deal Physical Damage to an opponent equal to the listed die within Range 4 and Line of Sight. This is NOT an Attack and no Attack roll is made. You simply roll the die and deal the Damage. As such, this Damage cannot be Dodged. Lastly, Armor still reduces Damage dealt this way.

(Minor – Clarified): Unique Items (PG. 27 & PG. 55)

We’ve re-written the following rules for clarification regarding Unique Loot and how it interacts with the Story Round.

“Unique (PG. 27): All of the above Tiers have a Unique version of the cards available. Unique Items represent an Item with a unique history behind it’s existence. See Unique Loot Pg. 55.”

“Unique Loot (PG. 55)
Unique Loot is a special type of Combatant Loot Card. Unique Items represents special Items in Middara that are incredibly difficult to obtain.

If an Adventurer kills a Combatant and draws the Unique Loot card, that Adventurer randomly draws a Unique Item of the appropriate Tier (Loot LVL of the Encounter) from the Unique Item deck.

In the Adventure Mode, players will usually be instructed to add a single Unique Card of a specific rarity for sale at the start of a Story Round. This Item will be for sale until purchased and is never replaced. Meaning, even if you return to that specific Story Round at a later date, you will not draw a new Unique Item.

If you return to the same Story Round and you’ve already purchased the Unique Item that was previously for sale, then you will not have a Unique Item available to purchase.

!Important: If you don’t purchase a Unique Item and you end up being instructed to draw a Unique Item during a future Encounter, you will not shuffle that Unique Item in as one of the possible options as it is still for sale back at the store. Furthermore, if you do not purchase Unique Item, or you decide to sell it, this Unique Item is lost and remove from game for the rest of the adventure.”

(Minor – Clarified): Use Follow Up Abilities (PG. 43)

Clarified that FU Abilities may be used by you, target yourself, or target the figure you Attacked. This way, Rules as Written, FU: HEAL doesn’t have to target opponents. :p

(Minor – Clarified): Who Uses Command Cards? (PG. 56)

We removed mention of “Command Side”. This was an artifact from an old design.

(Minor – New): Item Tiers and Type (PG. 28) 

We added the following section to the rule book underneath Item Tiers and Type on (PG. 28)

Using Item Upgrades
Though they are attached to an Item, Item Upgrades and their Abilities are used independently of the Item they are attached to. Meaning, if you upgraded an Item with an Upgrade that had a Flip Ability, when used, that Flip Ability would only Flip the Upgrade and not the Item it was attached too.

(Minor – New): Removed/Re-Arranged: (PG. 39, 43, 51, and 67)

The following sections had information removed from the Rule Book:

  • Phases of an Adventurer’s Turn (PG. 39)
    The information listed on the order in which you resolve Abilities at the Start and End of your turn has been removed. These rules did not account for everything we would like to add to our game and were needlessly complex for how little they allowed us to do. Instead, the rules for Simultaneous Abilities occurring is now listed under the “Other Rules” section on PG. 67. In practice, this will not change your game mechanically in any way. However, if something does occur at the same time and their is any question as to which order it happens in, refer to the “Simultaneous Abilities” Section added to our Errata and new Digital Rule Book.
  • The Spell Action (PG. 51)
    The order in which the information presented for Empowering a Spell has been re-arranged to reflect something closer to the Attack Steps. This will not change your game mechanically in any way.
  • Resistances, Immunities, and Protection (PG. 43, 67)
    These sections had redundant information for ImmunitiesResistances, and Protection. We removed these items as all the information required for these were under their corresponding Tags on PG. 33.
(Minor – Clarified): Combatant Loot Cards (PG. 55)

We clarified the following to mention that death by pit would also equate to earning a Loot Card. The pink bit is the change.

When an Opponent is Defeated for any reason, Adventurers draw the top card on the Combatant Loot deck.

(Minor– Appended): Adventurer Skill Checks (PG. 66)

We added the following to this section of the Rule Book:

“Some Abilities will modify Skill Checks or Skill Values. Only Abilities with a Passive Condition Tag may modify Skill Checks that occur outside of Encounters. In these cases, the Ability must also be used by an Adventurer currently in the Active Party.”

(Minor– Appended): AI Steps (PG. 58)

We made some aesthetic changes and added the following to this section of the Rule Book:

“Very rarely, an AI Step or Special Rule might instruct an Intelligent Combatant to make an Attack or Cast a Spell against a specific target but the target has since been moved out or Range, been Defeated, or is otherwise no longer a legal target. In these cases, the Attack or Spell will not be made and any further instructions that would require this Attack or Spell to have been made will also not be made.”

(Minor– New): Espers (PG. 69)

We added the following to this section of the Rule Book:

“An Adventurer may not attempt to summon a LOYAL ESPER that is already on the board.”

(Minor– Updated): Currents (PG. 22)

We updated and added the following to the rules for Currents:

“Figures that passively are not affected by a specific type of terrain also ignore Currents within that type of Terrain.

Loot Tokens are the only token type affected by Currents. Since these tokens don’t have turns, they are moved at the end of every round.”

(Minor– Updated): Melee/Ranged Icons (PG. 31)

We updated the Melee/Ranged Icon rules. They referenced a ranged value. however, no Melee Ranged Icon has a range value. In addition, we added clarifications on what you do when you have two weapons equipped with the Melee/Ranged Icon. (Example: Two shields.)

“Items with this Icon are considered to have both the Melee Icon and the Ranged Icon. These Weapons may be equipped with either a Melee or a Ranged Weapon and assume the Range and type of whatever they are paired with. If both of your equipped Weapons have the Melee/Ranged Icon then both are considered Melee Weapons. Abilities with this Icon are referencing both Melee and Ranged, meaning that they can be used with Weapons that have either Icon.”

Adventure Book

(Critical – Appended): Making The Grade (PG. 20)

We intended to give out an extra XP during the MAST for those who did exceptionally well. The text for the Adventure Mechanic has been updated to the following:

60+
The Party receives 240 Gold and Gain 5 XP each.”

(Critical – Error): Chapter 1 Tips

Unfortunately, the tips on page 6, 17, 33, and 58 didn’t get updated to reflect the most recent changes in the rules we made before printing. While these tips aren’t entirely incorrect in some ways, we’ve gone ahead and updated them to reflect the most recent rules in the Abridged version and all future printings.

Embarrassing, we know.

Below is a list of the corrected tips and their corresponding pages. 

Reminder: Restoring vs Not Restoring (PG.6)
When Adventurers are instructed to Restore, they Unflip and Unexhaust all cards and remove all Damage and other tokens.

If an Encounter continues without telling Adventurers to Restore, they keep all cards and Damage the way they were, although they still remove any Effect tokens. In addition, Defeated Adventurers or Adventurers with more Damage tokens than half of their max HP remove Damage tokens until they have Damage tokens equal to half of their max HP.

Tip: Special Defenses & Empowering (PG.17)
Some monsters have special defenses that make hurting them even more difficult. For example, Water Loas have the Arcane Ability. This Ability renders certain symbols during attacks useless. In this case, (Shield), (Book) and (Burst). This can be overcome in a variety of ways. First, players can use Spells. Spells are not considered Attacks, meaning that Arcane has no effect. Players can also use the Throw Ability to deal Damage. Since the Throw Ability is also not an Attack, this will also bypass Arcane’s protection.

Tip: Urgency Tokens (PG. 33)
Encounters will trigger a Lose Condition if players earn too many Urgency tokens. Urgency tokens force the players to keep moving. This prevents players from idling for too long. As soon as the players have 4 or more Urgency tokens all Adventurers are Defeated. This will lead to a Lose Condition of the current Encounter. See Pg. 50 of the Rulebook
for a refresher on Flanking.

Tip: Aggro and Pulling (PG. 58)
Remember, if an Intelligent Combatant did not have any AI Steps with a true condition, the Combatant won’t do anything. This means that a lot of enemies won’t do anything unless an Adventurer is close enough. This can be used to the Adventurers’ advantage. But be careful! At the end of a round in which no opponent had an AI Step with a true condition, and no opponents were Spawned, then the players will Gain an Urgency token.

(Critical – Error): Clumsy Withdrawal (PG. 275)

This scene is missing the Flag check required to know which scene to progress too. It should say:

Flag Check:
Does the party have the Story Flag Key Defeat?”

(Major – Clarified): Like a Blur (PG. 65)

The intent of this achievement is that a single adventurer must successfully Dodge 5 Attacks in a single round. It has been updated to the following:

“Like a Blur: If an Adventurer successfully Dodges 5 Attacks in 1 round, read the following hidden text:”

(Successfully Dodging an attack means you took the Dodge Action and the attack being made against you missed.)

(Major – Clarified): Sleeping Gevaudan (PG. 19)

The Sleeping Gevaudan special rule needed to be clarified to be more specific about how it works. We’ve changed it to the following:

“Sleeping Gevaudan: Do not add the Gevaudan Initiative Card to the Initiative Track. The Gevaudan on Tile UM19 are considered Sleeping until an Adventurer has ended their turn on Tile UM19 or has dealt damage to 1 of them. While Sleeping, the Gevaudan will not take turns. Once woken up, add the Gevaudan Initiative Card to the track following the normal spawning rules. If they are Sleeping when an Attack or Spell is made against them, the Attack or Spell Gains +6 to the roll and the Gevaudan will not Dodge or Counter.”

(Major – Error): Judas, the Celestial Gigas (PG. 171)

The Special Rule “Time is of the Essence” is missing some text to make the instructions make sense. It should say:

♦ Are there 4 or 7 Time tokens?:
[Click For Spolier]

(Minor – Clarified): Rumble in the Dark (PG. 35)

The hidden text for the Blue Objective, underneath heading D, was clarified. It now specifies that it ends the current Action.

(Minor – Clarified): The Arsen Castle (PG. 45)

The reward earned form the Adventure Mechanic possible needs to reflect that it’s possible to have more than 7 XP. The text for the Adventure Mechanic has been updated to the following:

7+ = 10 Gold.

(Minor – Error): The MAST, Day 1 (PG. 7)

The Special Encounter Rule “Grading” lists that you’re supposed to determine your score based on the amount of “Turns” that have passed. This is a misprint and should say “Rounds

(Minor – Error): Through The Rubble (PG. 206)

The Setup text lists Tile UM23. This is wrong, it should list UM27 instead.

(Minor – Error): Goodbye to Grace (PG. 141)

The Adventure Book Reward at the end of this Scene instructs the players to “Gain the Small Black Ticket Story Relic.”

It should say “Gain the Medium Black Ticket Story Relic.”

Bounty Book: BP1

(Critical – Error): Diagram A (PG. 8)

Diagram A shows that it connects to Tile UM21. This is incorrect, It should connect to Tile UM17.

(Major – Error): Search for the Lair (PG. 4)

The Blue Objective references Special Terrain and doesn’t specify the Tile in question. It should reference Dangerous Terrain on Tile UM35 instead.

Diagram Book

(Critical – Error): Diagram 26

The Encounter, Dense Foliage (Adventure Book Pg. 369), used a Tile in a Diagram that was also used in its Encounter Setup. We’ve updated the Diagram to use a different Tile so that nothing breaks. However, this required that we also update some of the encounter text on both “Something Hidden” and the Green Loot to thematically represent the changes made to the Diagram. Mechanically, the changes to the Encounter itself are all the same. So, if you don’t care about the fluff you can always just check out the Diagram below and play as written.

Diagram 26 needs to use Tile UM70 instead of Tile UM52 and it’s setup has been changed. Refer to the download below for the correct Diagram setup.

(Spoiler) Below is a link to the proper print and play files: (Spoiler)

Diagram 26

Dense Foliage Encounter (No spoiler here)

 

 

(Minor – Error): Diagram 11

The Special Rule “Shallow Water” Should reference UM21 not UM2.

(Minor – Error): Diagram 16

The Setup text lists Tile UM25. This is wrong, it should list UM23 instead.

Crawl Book

(Critical – Error): Hounded by Hounds (PG. 18)

The Alternate Win Condition should instruct the players to continue to Separate Ways PG. 20 after the Shop & Train phase.

(Major – Error): Bug Bomb Special Rule (PG. 10)

The Bug Bomb Special Rule didn’t specify who started with the Bug Bomb. We’ve added the following to the start of the special rule:

“Choose 1 Adventurer, The chosen Adventurer Gains the Bug Bomb token. Place this token on their Adventurer card to indicate they are carrying it.”

(Major– Error): Too Many Sickles (PG. 15)

The Special Rule Surprised Cave Sickles should instruct players to setup on the Orange Starting Location instead of the non-existent Red Starting Location.

Small Cards

(Critical – Clarified): Gigas Grip Discipline

Gigas Grip caused a plethora of questions. This card has been updated to prevent it from being abused while also keeping it thematically the same and still viable. The card now says the following:

This Discipline does not work with (Ranged) Weapons, but does work with (Melee/Ranged) weapons. You may equip 2-handed (Melee) Weapons as if they were 1-handed but they still count as 2-handed Weapons. When Attacking, choose the Symbols, Upgrades, and Combat Dice on 1 of your equipped Weapons.

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Gigas Grip Discipline Card

(Major – Error): Felled Afterlife Discipline

This card mentions a “Esper Limit” This is a misprint and shouldn’t be on the card.

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Felled Afterlife Discipline

(Major – Error): Imbued Fear Discipline

The Imbued Fear Discipline card references FORCE 6 but should reference FORCE X instead. It should read as follows:

“Make a Atk at +2 Physical Damage. During this Attack Gain: FU: Inflict Darkness, FORCE X + DIFFERENCE HIT. Where X equals 6 plus the LVL of your highest Cruor Ability.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Imbued Fear Discipline Card

(Major – Updated): Perfect, Weapon Upgrade

Due to abuse by Gigas Grip, we’ve updated the text on the Weapon Upgrade Perfect. It now says the following:

“When making an Attack with this Weapon, depending on the Tier of the Weapon, Gain the following:
• Mundane: +3 to Attack Rolls. • Common: +2 to Attack Rolls.• Uncommon: +1 to Attack Rolls.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Perfect Item Upgrade

(Minor – Error): Animate Promotional Initiative

The group number printed is wrong. Instead of”2-4″ it should say “3-4”.

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Animate Initiative Card

 

Medium Cards

(Critical – Appended): Cloth Armor Items

All Armor with the Cloth Item Type has been updated to prevent them from infinitely Un-Exhausting. In addition, they no longer provide a scaling bonus to Defense beyond +1. They now say the following:

Exhaust: DODGE. If you successfully Dodge this Attack, you may COUNTER.”

and

“During a Dodge, if you don’t roll (SKULL) , add +1 (SHIELD) to the result.”

(If you use one piece of Errata from us, this is it. There has been enough minor changes to the cards to prevent  some exploits that we recommend printing this out and using the versions provided here.)

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Cloth Armor Item Cards

(Major – Error): Scythe of Idols – Promotional Item

The card’s Casting Upgrade is misprinted. It was meant to say “GREY” but instead says “RED.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Scythe of Idols

(Major – Error): Sickle Venom – Monster Loot

Sickle Venom didn’t specify how it is used exactly, this has been updated to the following:

Per Encounter: A figure within SOI is Inflicted with Poison, FORCE 11.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Sickle Venom Fix

(Minor – Appended): Long Sword Items

All Items with the Long Sword Item Type should have the following ability added to it’s 2-handed side:

“This Item may not have more than 1 Upgrade.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Long Sword Type Item Cards

(Minor – Clarified): Arrow Consumable Items

We intended the Arrows to be re-drawn anytime you gain them as a reward of any type. We’ve removed any mention of Adventure Mechanic to make it clear that it’s any reward. It now says the following:

“If this card is drawn as a reward, you may re-draw it.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Arrow Consumable Item Cards

(Minor – Error): Talisman of Celeritous Grace – Promotional Item

The card was meant to be a Relic but instead says “Core.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Talisman of Celeritous Grace

Large Cards

(Critical – Error): Hidden Large Card #26

The Passive Ability is printed wrong. It should be:

“Nymphology: ‘Redactedhas RESISTANCE : MAGIC DMG.”

(Spoiler) Below is a link to the proper print and play file: (Spoiler)

Hidden Large Card 26

(Critical – Error): Hidden Large Card #27

One of the Passive Ability is printed wrong. It should be:

“Arkalla’s Gift: ‘Redacted‘ has RESISTANCE : MAGIC DMG.”

(Spoiler) Below is a link to the proper print and play file: (Spoiler)

Hidden Large Card 27

(Critical – Error): Nightingale Alternate Art Promotional Adventurer

The ability printed is wrong. It should be:

Per Encounter: All other allies Gain +1 SP. Nightingale Gains +2 SP.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Nighitngale Alternate Art Card

(Critical – Error): Water Loa Command Card

The Arcane ability is printed wrong. It should be:

Arcane: When making an Attack against the Water Loa (Shield), (Book), and (Burst) rolled during the Attack roll are considered non-existent.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Water Loa Command Card

(Critical – Error): Earth Loa Conduit Card

The Ability “Imposing” that costs 1 SP is wrong. It should be the following:

Taunt: At anytime, when an opponent makes an Attack or Casts a Spell against another Ally, so long as you legally could be the target of the Attack or Spell, you may force it to target you instead.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Earth Loa Conduit Card

(Minor – Clarified): Zulfiqar Loyal Esper

The figures affected by True Devotion was confusing. It should say:

True Devotion: If the figure that spawned Zulfiqar spends 1 Summon token, all adjacent figures to Zulfiqar are dealt 4 Magic Damage, and the figure that spawned Zulfiqar HEAL equal to the total Damage dealt by this Ability. Then, Zulfiqar is Defeated.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file: 

Zulfiqar Esper Card

(Minor – Error): Hidden Large Card #BP2

The first AI Step references the word “Adjacent” when it should not. It should say:

Is there an opponent adjacent?
Make a separate Atk against each opponent within REACH 2.”

(Spoiler) Below is a link to the proper print and play file: (Spoiler)

Hidden Large Card BP2

(Minor – Error): Soul Butcher Intelligent Card

The Heal Symbol Ability should specify that it’s a Follow Up Ability and say:

FU: Heal 5

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Soul Butcher Intelligent Card

(Minor – Error): Water Loa Intelligent Card

The Heal Symbol Ability should specify that it’s a Follow Up Ability. In addition, we clarified an AI Step to specify that it places water tokens adjacent to the Water Loa. Before, it was unclear where the water was placed.

The Symbol Ability for Healing should say:

FU: Heal 2

The AI step in question now says the following with the pink bit being the change:

Then: Place Water tokens on all adjacent spaces to the Water Loa.”

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Water Loa Intelligent Card

(Minor – Error): Enslaved Spirit Esper Card

The Ability “Mourning Remnant” should not have the Cruor Tag listed after the Ability.

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Enslaved Spirit Esper Card

Tarot Cards

(Critical – Error): Nightingale 2-3 player Variant Card

The 2 player side of Nightingale’s Variant Card was misprinted. Nightingale’s Ability should read as followed:

“Per Encounter: At anytime, all other allies Gain +1 SP and you Gain +2 SP.”

(We’ve updated the Free Downloads for these files to reflect this change.)

Below is a link to the proper print and play file:

Nghtingale Variant Card

Missing Components

(Critical – Error): Bug Bomb Token

We spaced adding the Bug Bomb Token to our Punch boards. If you wonder why you cannot find it, that is why.