What happens if a Totem/Special Rule/Ability requires me to spawn or place a figure and their is no legal space available?

Anytime an a figure spawns and their is no legal space to place them, place them on the nearest legal space that is also normal terrain. 

If an Adventurer were to succumb to this via a strange concoction of abilities (Such as having their flight being canceled while they are currently occupying a space shared by another figure) they must place their figure on the nearest legal space they’ve already been in this turn.